posting from two hemispheres till october!

It seemed time for an update on our whereabouts!

Steve has teamed up with three friends South Africa (Dave, Andrew, and Ningo) and Scottish sea captain Bob Shepton (aka Captain Bob). They’re taking a 7000km journey through the Arctic’s Northwest passages to do some big wall climbing on remote walls.

For the play-by-play, you can follow along at their blog. If Andrew’s account of their first test sail is any indication, it’s going to be an entertaining read.

Here’s team’s planned route (um, yes, I married a crazy person!)

Route Map

Captain Bob’s boat, Dodo’s Delight, will their floating home for the next four months

IMG_8597.jpg

With Steve off to sea, I’m heading to the mountain town of Huaraz, Peru, which is an overnight bus ride from Lima. It was these amazing photos from our friend Dirk Smith that first sparked my interest, and since then, I’ve heard about Huaraz from many a climber.

I’m planning on hiking and climbing and soaking up the mountain vibe. But biggest thing on my wish-list is to set up and teach a creative writing workshop (in Spanish) for local teenage girls with our quinoa-loving, maté sipping friend Ana, who we met last year in Patagonia.

The infamous Ana, picking guindas (wild cherries) in Argentina

IMG_0411

Ana and I are collaborating with WriteGirl, a Los Angeles based organization that brings creative writing to teenage girls. We’ll be translating and adapting their curriculum for the young women of Huaraz. Ana won grant funding from her university to cover cost of materials, and now we’re working with an organization in Peru on the final missing piece: getting participants! I’ll share more once we have sorted out a few more details.

And so, that’s our latest! Steve and I parted ways on Friday at the Barcelona airport. I took a flight to the US, where I’ll be till mid-June when I leave for Peru. Steve flew to Scotland, where he and team are working on prepping the boat before they start the Atlantic crossing in a few days time.

It’s a big change from being together 24/7, but these trips feel almost miraculous in the way they’ve come together. We’re going to have some stories to tell when we reconvene in the States in October–and hopefully by then I’ll also have mastered all the finer points of pitching a tent on my own!

Thanks for following along–more to come!

This entry was posted in updates. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to posting from two hemispheres till october!

  1. Emily Ward says:

    Angie – so excited for your new adventure in Peru. What an incredible opportunity to spark teenagers’ interest in writing. Have fun and keep us in the loop :)

  2. Mike says:

    I think the crazy guy you married has a crazy wife!!!!

  3. Angie Bradshaw says:

    I’m just going to take that as a compliment, Mike!

  4. Kerry Kopke says:

    Thanks for the update. I think that creative writing is such an amazing tool to teach and inspire young women as a healthy way of expressing themselves. I don’t do art or play any music but writing is my creatve passion and is such a fantastic outlet and almost cathartic experience. Please let me know how it goes? I would be very interested in finding out more and who knows maybe we could try to do something similar in Cape Town? Although I doubt I could run any workshop in Xhosa. Good luck!

  5. Perri and Ray Shanaman says:

    Wow! Grandma Ruth thinks I-I-I have a sense of adventure – you certainly top me by a long shot. Best of luck to both of you and may God protect both of you in your travels. Love and Blessings, Aunt Perri

  6. Angie Bradshaw says:

    Kerry–I volunteered with WriteGirl in Los Angeles and it was an incredible experience. I’m sure it would be a really cool thing to bring to Cape Town, and Keren, WG founder, has been thinking about how to expand their program beyond the scope of LA. So, I will absolutely let you know how it goes for us. We want to keep a blog and post works from the girls as the sessions go, so once we’re further along with our plans, I’ll post a link and you can follow along. (We’re going to post the writing in both Spanish and English!) If you want to talk about it more now, feel free to email me!

  7. Haleh says:

    Wow….Sounds amazing! Good luck dear.

  8. Andrew says:

    Hey Angie, what are the chances, we are currently in Peru, Nasca. We will be in Cusco by the time you get here I think. Have a great time up north!
    Andrew

  9. finchplucker says:

    You guys seriously kick ass. I wondered what you would do while Steve stared at the sun for weeks on end, and I think you’ve found a worthy project.

    Steve: Make sure you train all day on the rigging of your boat. In no time at all, you’ll be fit enough for Ninja Warrior, and you can take that fisherman Makoto Nagano down!

Leave a Reply

